Welcome and Some Other Blather

So, here we are, again. For most everybody reading this, right now (you know… My mom, those three friends from high school that think that I’m funny, my husband, and a couple die hard writing friends), this is a second go-round, as I used to keep a blog many moons ago. However, consider this a warning: This blog is all about abhorrent self-promotion.

Well, that sounded harsh. Let’s try that, again. As most of my friends and family know, I have spent the last few years writing. I wrote a novel. In fact, I’ve almost written two. This is when I do the little squee dance of joy, because as uncool as it is, I am really proud of myself for that. So, excuse me while I do a samba.

O. K., that should never happen again. Moving onward, it is important, as an author, (Holy Crap, I just called myself an author!) to have a platform where readers can get to know you. Also, it helps if you can show an agent that you are, in fact, able to help promote your work, type complete sentences, etc.  So here I am, prattling on about myself as I slum in my family room in pj’s, which I’ve gotta say, ain’t a bad gig.

I hereby vow that I will do my best not to annoy you with constant self-aggrandizing posts, because… well, I did just tell you that I was writing this in pajamas, so how grand can I be? I’m still going to write about all of the things that I love. Nerd stuff, football, my crazy-awesome kids, my dear, long-suffering husband, maybe a little politics. But now, I’ll also be writing about writing. And editing. And hopefully, publishing. I apologize that I have dragged you into this mess, with me. If it helps, I am unspeakably grateful for all of your support, and I’ll do my best to be funny, or at least easy to make fun of.

Oh, and for anyone interested (see also: my mom), you can also follow my writings here by clicking on the link below. Or you can follow me on twitter, or email me at srfilak(at)gmail(dot)com.

2 thoughts on “Welcome and Some Other Blather

  1. I get to actually say… I knew her when!! How exciting is this!? I am very excited to see where this adventure leads all of us!

Leave a Reply

